Gareth Bale has vowed to become the complete player after putting pen to paper on a new four-year contract at White Hart Lane.

The midfielder says he wants to improve his all-round game, scoring more goals and creating even more for others as he tries to help put Tottenham back in the UEFA Champions League.

The Welshman netted 13 goals in all competitions last season, and recorded 18 assists, but it seems that wasn’t enough to satisfy Bale’s high standards.

He told the club’s official website: ” I think I could have scored a lot more and that’s one area I’m looking to improve more than anything. I think I can do that.

“I did quite well with my assists last season but I’d like to improve that as well.

“Last season I was getting double and treble-marked on the wing, so I was able to come inside and score a few goals in more central areas.

“Now it’s a case of mixing it all up and putting my whole game together. I’m looking at my all-round game, trying new things and trying to be the best player I can be.”

And Tottenham fans will be pleased to hear that Bale believes he is in the right place to achieve his aims.

He continued: “I’m still young and still learning. This is the right place for me to keep progressing as a player. This is the perfect place to do that.

“We’ve got the potential to challenge right at the top of the Premier League. It’s exciting times at the club and I’m enjoying it, I want to be a part of that. I don’t see any reason to leave.

“I know where I need to improve and hopefully you’ll see that next season.”

Leave a Reply

